Shavar Newkirk, MVP IBL All Star 2022

The white TEAM won the IBL All Star 2022 match with Shavar Newkirk coming out as the best player (MVP) for the match which was held at the Gelora Bung Karno Basketball Building, Jakarta, Thursday (31/3).

In a star war duel filled with players chosen by the fans, the White Team, led by coach David Singleton from Prawira Bandung, won with a score of 102-100 over Youbel Sondakh’s Red Team from Satria Muda Pertamina Jakarta.

Newkirk became the player who contributed the most to the White team’s victory. The foreign player from NSH Mountain Gold Timika scored 26 points, supported by 19 points from Kaleb Ramot Gemilang, 16 points from Yudha Saputera, and 15 points from Abraham Damar Grahita.

Read also: IBL All Stars 2022 Serves Entertainment Until Basketball Flashbacks in Indonesia

Meanwhile, from the Red team, Randy Bell recorded a double-double with 25 points and 10 rebounds, Tyree Jamal Robinson scored 26 points and Dame Diagne had 22 points.

The Whites had taken the lead from the start of the first quarter when they were 17 points clear at 26-9.

The resurrection of the new Red team occurred when entering the second half of the match. A series of accurate shots from Diagne and Robinson at the end of the third quarter was able to reduce the difference in points to just four points.

Abraham Damar and his friends still led the points until the last quarter before Diagne’s layup in the last 31 seconds made the position equal 100-100.

Two points from Abraham Damar Grahita’s turn around jump shot with 16 seconds remaining became the final points for the White Team’s victory.

Abraham was also voted Best Local Player in the 2022 IBL All Stars after scoring 15 points, five rebounds and four assists.

The duel of the stars is the main dish of BL All Star 2022 by bringing together the players chosen by the fans in the voting process through the official IBL website.

In addition to the competition between All Star Red and All Star White, IBL All Star was also enlivened with skill contests, such as the slam dunk contest, three points contest, and skill challenge contest.

Tangerang Hawks player, Jarron Crump, came out as the winner of the slam dunk contest, while Indra Muhammad won the three points contest from Bima Perkasa Jogja.

Indra scored 15 points, breaking Andakara Prastawa’s dominance from Pelita Jaya Bakrie, who had to settle for runner-up position after collecting 14 points. (Ant/OL-1)